Customer Journey Management at Generali Switzerland

Reading time: 4 minutes
cxomni Expert Talk

“We want to create, not just manage.”

The cxomni Expert Talks are about practical insights and best practices. cxomni users and partners talk about their Customer Journey Management projects and their impact. In this issue, Thomas Schäffer spoke to Roberto Gago from Generali Switzerland, a cxomni client, on why the Swiss insurance company decided to implement a Journey Management Framework and about the initial impact of the cxomni platform so far.

roberto gago, generali

Roberto Gago,
Customer Experience Manager
Generali, Switzerland

thomas schäffer cxomni

Thomas Schäffer
CSO & Co-Founder
cxomni

Roberto, great to host you in our Expert Talk. Could you briefly introduce yourself and describe your role at Generali?

As Customer Experience Manager at Generali, I am responsible for designing and optimizing the interactions with our customers. I work closely with different departments to ensure that our customers are at the center of all our activities. Last year, for example, we modelled our company’s personas and visualized the most important journeys from the customer’s perspective. Both approaches really helped us to derive our business requirements.
In addition, I am responsible for managing, monitoring, and developing our company-wide T-NPS program (Transactional Net Promoter Score program) with best-in-class KPIs. My goal is to provide the company with a comprehensive understanding of our customers’ needs and to continuously improve customer satisfaction. In my previous role as Head of Marketing Project Management, I was responsible for planning, organizing, and managing our innovation projects by leading interdisciplinary teams and I conducted requirements analysis together with our top management.

What challenges do insurance companies face today, and why play customer journeys such an important role?

The increasing level of digitalization forces us to adapt our processes, products and services. Because we only remain competitive when we meet the changing needs of our target groups. In a time where customers are digitally savvy and have lots of information and options at their fingertips, it’s important to understand what they really want. Especially, if we want to retain existing customers or attract new ones such as Generation Z.
Another reason is that customers do not only judge us by the quality of our insurance products. What they want is a solution tailored to their individual needs. Customer journeys as a tool help us to address these challenges. By mapping the entire interaction between company and customer, we know where we have to improve and deliver our customers a seamless and consistent experience. Besides personalized products and services, this can also include optimizing our distribution channels for a higher customer satisfaction.

Playbook: How to manage complex CX projects!
Lay the foundation for a holisitc Journey Management Framework

What was the reason for implementing Customer Journey Management at Generali?

The reasons were very different. First, we had a solid Transactional Net Promoter Score (T-NPS) program in place and we have regularly been benchmarking ourselves against our competitors within Switzerland. We have also used global Relationship Net Promoter Score (RNPS) measurements to further understand our positioning. Due to these activities, we knew our strengths and weaknesses. However, we realized that only collecting socio-demographic data was not sufficient and we still did not have enough insight into our customers’ behaviors.
We wanted to develop a deeper understanding of our customer’s needs, wishes, and values, and how they envisioned their future relationship with us. That’s why we felt the need to bring data and customer journeys together by implementing Customer Journey Management. We had hoped to gain more detailed insights by analyzing our customer’s behavior in the context of the journey, which we actually have achieved.

What challenges or pain points did you want to address with Customer Journey Management?

Our goal was to address both existing and potential new issues. We started by identifying our existing customer pain points which included e.g. the lack of status notifications or the inability to access personalized benefits in our customer portal. After that we had identified new, unknown pain points that we had not captured before. We therefore conducted an inventory analysis with our stakeholders to gain a broader understanding of our customer interactions.

When did you realize that Customer Journey Management requires enabling software?

We experimented with different tools for our workshops in 2020 during the pandemic restrictions. But the results weren’t satisfying. We wanted a tool that could not only visualize beautiful journeys, but also derive business requirements, store personas with graphics, analyze data and visualize heat maps for customer pain points.
Another important aspect was that the tool should help our teams collaborate by assigning tasks and facilitating communication and project management. And finally, we wanted software that could provide visibility to our management while meeting the specific needs of our stakeholders.

cxomni Is a Leader Among Journey Mapping Platforms!
The Forrester Wave™: Journey Mapping Platforms, Q2 2022

Are there examples where Customer Journey Management is starting to pay off?

Absolutely. Firstly, we have captured our personas, touchpoints, and all actual journeys with the customer pain points from our studies. Afterwards, we have mapped the to-be journeys with the basic service and wow factors, as well as the derived business requirements in cxomni. We completed this project at the end of last year and have already implemented several business requirements.
At Generali Switzerland, we focus on all phases of the customer journey. This includes e.g. the comparability of offers, the appointment booking via interactive voice response (IVR), the creation of a 360-degree customer view and the calculation of customer lifetime value. This approach allows us to determine the next best experiences for our customers or offer them the next best product.
From my perspective Customer Journey Management is an ongoing process that we will continue to develop and improve over time. Since not all requirements can be implemented immediately, it is important to monitor the progress and adjust from time to time. This is how we ensure that all customer journeys are optimized on an ongoing basis. Overall, we want to design, not just manage.

Thank you very much for your answers and the exciting insights, Roberto.

About Generali Switzerland

Generali Switzerland has been a trusted companion for around one million customers since 1987, offering solutions for every situation in life. These include property, legal protection and life insurance as well as pension solutions. With the founding of the House of Insurtech Switzerland (HITS), Generali is embracing the concept of corp-ups to adopt innovative technology and ideas. To this end, the insurance company is developing innovative offerings with HITS, start-ups and companies.

Don't forget to share this post!

Table of Contents

More to explore

Reading time: 3 minutes
Implementing Journey Management software is a holistic IT project that should be well planned. We have compiled five key practical tips to help you get started.
Reading time: 5 minutes
The markets for insurance and banking services, energy, telecommunications and entertainment streaming services are lacking high customer churns.
Reading time: 5 minutes
We show 6 tips that UX teams can use to ensure that their user journeys are not only effective, but also sustainable.

Overview

Customer Journey Mapping

Collaborate across teams to create customer journeys

Customer Journey Management

Merge your journey maps with a framework designed for your company

Customer Journey Analytics

Connect data sources with your customer journeys and touchpoints

Customer Journey Orchestration

Distribute relevant insights and trigger actions – continuously and automatically

Whitepaper

How AI is changing Journey Management

Overview

cxomni Journey Mapping Framework

Your toolbox for a standardized CX/UX taxonomy

cxomni Journey Analytics

Connect all data sources at Touchpoints and Customer Journeys

cxomni Actions Manager

Orchestrate insights on requirements and recommendations for action

Playbook

Introduction of a holistic Journey Management Framework

Overview

cxomni Blog

Everything you need to know about Customer Journey Management and Customer Experience

CX Expert Webinare & Events

Learn more about our upcoming events, webcasts and webinars

Best Practice Downloads

Informative guides, whitepapers and case studies to download

CX Expert Webcast

Major trends for Journey Managers in 2024

Overview

Why cxomni?

cxomni was founded as a start-up in Munich and is a thought leader for Customer Journey Management

Jobs & Career

Become part of a dynamic start-up

Information Security & Data Protection

Information security & data protection are key elements of cxomni platform

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Current Topics & News about Customer Journey Management

cxomni Expert Talk:
Das Customer Journey Management bei Generali

Lesedauer: 5 Minuten
cxomni Expert Talk

Customer Journey Management und Kundenbeziehung: "Wir wollen gestalten, statt verwalten."

In den cxomni Expert Talks berichten wir aus der Praxis für die Praxis. Es kommen Anwender zu Wort, die Euch Ihr Customer Journey Management vorstellen und erzählen, wie sie damit arbeiten. Neben praktischen Insights stehen auch die Erfolge der Unternehmen im Fokus. 

Dieses Mal hat sich Thomas Schäffer mit Roberto Gago vom cxomni-Kunden Generali Switzerland zum Customer Journey Management der Schweizer Versicherung ausgetauscht. 

roberto gago, generali

Roberto Gago,
Customer Experience Manager
Generali, Switzerland

thomas schäffer cxomni

Thomas Schäffer
CSO & Co-Founder
cxomni

Roberto, schön, dass Du Zeit für uneren Expert Talk hast. Magst Du Dich am besten kurz vorstellen und deine Aufgaben bei Generali beschreiben?

Als Customer Experience Manager bei Generali gestalte und optimiere ich die Interaktionen mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden. Um sie bei jeder Tätigkeit in den Fokus zu stellen, arbeite ich eng mit verschiedenen Fachabteilungen zusammen. Im letzten Jahr haben wir zum Beispiel die Personas unseres Unternehmens erstellt und die wichtigsten Customer Journeys aus Kundensicht entwickelt. Daraus konnten wir dann unsere Business Requirements ableiten.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt meiner Tätigkeit ist die Steuerung, Überwachung und Weiterentwicklung des unternehmensweiten T-NPS-Programms (Transactional Net Promoter Score Programm) entlang der „Best-in-Class-KPIs“. Mein Ziel ist es, ein umfassendes Verständnis für die Bedürfnisse und Wünsche unserer Kund:innen in das Unternehmen zu bringen und die Kundenzufriedenheit kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

In meiner vorherigen Rolle als Leiter Marketing Projects Management war ich verantwortlich für die Planung, Organisation und Leitung von Innovationsprojekten sowie für die Durchführung von Bedarfsanalysen. Zudem konnte ich interdisziplinäre Teams und das Top-Management erfolgreich durch den Innovationszyklus zu führen.

Welchen Herausforderungen müssen sich Versicherungen aktuell stellen und warum spielen Customer Journeys dafür eine wichtige Rolle?

 

Die zunehmende Digitalisierung stellt uns vor die Herausforderung, dass wir Prozesse, Produkte und Services entsprechend anpassen müssen. Nur so bleiben wir wettbewerbsfähig und werden den sich verändernden Kundenbedürfnissen gerecht. In einer Zeit, in der Kund:innen zunehmend digital affin sind und eine Fülle von Informationen und Optionen zur Verfügung haben, kommt es darauf an, sie wirklich zu verstehen. Das ist besonders wichtig, wenn wir bestehende Kund:innen halten oder neue Gruppen wie die Generation Z ansprechen wollen. Kundinnen und Kunden erwarten heute nicht nur eine Versicherungsdeckung, sondern eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung für ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse.

Customer Journeys spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen. Sie bilden die gesamte Interaktion von Kund:innen mit dem Unternehmen über verschiedene Berührungspunkte hinweg ab. So können Versicherungen wertvolle Erkenntnisse gewinnen, wo Verbesserungen nötig sind, um Versicherungsnehmer:innen eine nahtlose und konsistente Erfahrung zu bieten. Dies kann neben der Entwicklung personalisierter Produkte und Services auch die Optimierung von Vertriebskanälen sowie die Steigerung der Kundenzufriedenheit umfassen.

Praxisleitfaden Journey Management im Versicherungssektor: Vertrauen gewinnen, Kunden halten!
Strategie für Kundenzentrierung und Multi-Channel-Management

Was gab den Ausschlag für die Implementierung eines Customer Journey Managements bei Generali?

Es war eine Kombination aus verschiedenen Faktoren. Zunächst einmal verfügten wir über ein solides Transactional Net Promoter Score Programm (T-NPS) und haben regelmäßige Vergleiche mit unserer Konkurrenz innerhalb der Schweiz durchgeführt. Darüber nutzten wir weltweite Relationship-Net-Promoter-Score-Messungen (RNPS), um unsere Positionierung zu verstehen.

Dank dieser Aktivitäten wussten wir, wo unsere Stärken und Schwächen lagen. Jedoch haben wir erkannt, dass wir noch nicht genügend Einblicke in die Verhaltensweisen und Anforderungen unserer Kund:innen hatten. Es hat einfach nicht ausgereicht, lediglich soziodemografische Daten zu erfassen. Vielmehr wollten wir verstehen, was ihre Bedürfnisse, Wünsche und Werte waren und wie sie sich ihre zukünftige Geschäftsbeziehung mit uns vorstellten. Indem wir durch das Journey Management Daten und Kundenreisen zusammenbringen wollten, versprachen wir uns detailliertere Erkenntnisse durch die Auswertung im Journey-Kontext.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt war der Wunsch, unsere Systeme zu modernisieren. Allerdings haben wir erkannt, dass es wenig Sinn macht, neue Systeme zu entwickeln, ohne zu wissen, was unsere Kund:innen wirklich wollen. Im schlimmsten Fall hätten wir an ihren Bedürfnissen vorbeigearbeitet. Das war dann der ausschlaggebende Punkt für die Implementierung des Customer Journey Managements.

Welche Herausforderungen oder Pain Points sollte das Customer Journey Management lösen?

Bereits zu Beginn des Projekts war es unser Ziel, sowohl die vorhandenen als auch potenzielle neue Pain Points anzugehen, um die Kundenerfahrung zu verbessern. Wir begannen damit, die bereits bekannten Customer Pain Points zu identifizieren. Dazu gehörten beispielsweise das Fehlen von Statusmeldungen oder die fehlende Möglichkeit, auf personalisierte Mehrwerte im Kundenportal zuzugreifen. Zusätzlich identifizierten wir auch neue, bisher unbekannte Pain Points, die wir zuvor nicht erfasst hatten. Dafür führten wir eine Bestandsanalyse mit unseren Stakeholdern durch und erhielten so einen erweiterten Einblick in die Kundeninteraktionen.

Wann wurde klar, dass euer Journey Management nur mit einer Software funktioniert?

Wir haben im Jahr 2020 mit diversen Tools experimentiert, um trotz der Einschränkungen der Pandemie Workshops durchführen zu können. So richtig zufrieden waren wir jedoch nicht. Wir wollten ein Tool, das nicht nur schöne Journeys visualisieren konnte, sondern auch die Ableitung von Business Requirements, das Hinterlegen unserer Personas inklusive Bildwelten, die Datenanalyse sowie die Visualisierung von Heat Maps für Customer Pain Points ermöglicht.

Zudem sollte es unsere Teams bei der Zusammenarbeit unterstützen, indem es Aufgaben zuweist und die Kommunikation sowie das Projektmanagement erleichtert. Und letztendlich sollte die Software unserer Geschäftsleitung einen Überblick geben und gleichzeitig die spezifischen Anforderungen unserer Stakeholder erfüllen.

cxomni ist ein Leader unter den Journey-Mapping-Plattformen!
The Forrester Wave™: Journey Mapping Platforms, Q2 2022

Gibt es Beispiele, wo das Customer Journey Management erste Erfolge zeigt?

Definitiv. Zunächst haben wir unsere Personas, Touchpoints und alle IST-Journeys mit den Customer Pain Points aus unseren Studien erfasst. Dabei haben wir die To-be-Journeys mit den Basis-Leistungs- und Wow-Faktoren sowie den abgeleiteten Business Requirements in cxomni festgehalten. Das Projekt haben wir zum Ende des letzten Jahres abgeschlossen und bereits einige Business Requirements umgesetzt.
Unser Fokus liegt auf sämtlichen Phasen der Customer Journey. Dazu gehört die Vergleichbarkeit von Angeboten, die Terminbuchung über Interactive Voice Response (IVR), die Schaffung einer 360-Grad-Kundensicht sowie die Berechnung des Customer Lifetime Value. Darauf basierend können wir dann auch die nächsten besten Experiences bestimmen oder das nächste beste Produkt zum Kauf anbieten.
Das Customer Journey Management ist ein kontinuierlicher Prozess, den wir im Laufe der Zeit stetig weiterentwickeln und verbessern werden. Nicht alle Anforderungen können sofort umgesetzt werden. Umso wichtiger ist es, den Fortschritt zu überwachen und Anpassungen vorzunehmen. So stellen wir sicher, dass die Kundenreise kontinuierlich optimiert wird. Wir wollen gestalten, statt verwalten.

Vielen Dank für Deine Antworten und die spannenden Einblicke, Roberto. 

Über Generali Schweiz

Seit 1987 ist Generali Schweiz eine vertrauensvolle Begleiterin für rund eine Million Kunden und bietet Lösungen für jede Lebenssituation an. Dazu zählen Sach-, Rechtsschutz- und Lebensversicherungen sowie Vorsorgelösungen. Mit der Gründung des House of Insurtech Switzerland (HITS) legt die Generali den Fokus auf Corp-Up, um die Integration von Wissen zu skalieren. Dafür entwickelt die Versicherung mit HITS, Start-ups und Unternehmen innovative Angebote.

 

Diesen Blogbeitrag teilen:

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Weitere Blogposts

Lesedauer: 5 Minuten
Anhand von Anwendungsbeispiele zeigen wir, wie Versicherer durch die Implementierung eines Customer Journey Management Frameworks ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit stärken können.
Lesedauer: 2 Minuten
Nutzen Sie unsere Potenzialanalyse für digitale Customer Journeys und erfahren Sie mehr über Vorteile und Impact eines Customer Journey Managements.
Lesedauer: 4 Minuten
In diesem Beitrag erklärt Human Business Architect Katja Busch, wie Unternehmen mit einem Customer Journey Management den Wandel zu mehr Kundenzentrierung anstoßen können.

Übersicht

Customer Journey Mapping

Erstellen und visualisieren Sie Customer Journeys im Team

Customer Journey Management

Kombinieren Sie Journey Maps mit dem auf Ihr Unternehmen zugeschnittenen Framework

Customer Journey Analytics

Verknüpfen Sie Datenquellen mit Customer Journeys und Touchpoints

Customer Journey Orchestration

Verbinden Sie CX-Insights mit Ihrem Produkt- und Bedarfsmanagement

Case Study

Journey Management Framework in der Praxis: Die Unite Success Story

Übersicht

cxomni Journey Mapping Framework

Ihr Baukasten für eine standardisierte CX/UX-Taxonomie

cxomni Journey Analytics

Verknüpfen Sie alle Datenquellen Ihrer CX mit Touchpoints und Journeys

cxomni Actions Manager

Orchestrieren Sie Insights zu Anforderungen und Handlungsempfehlungen

Playbook

Einführung eines holistischen Journey Management Frameworks

Übersicht

cxomni Blog

Alles Wissenswerte zu den Themen Customer Journey Management und Customer Experience

CX Expert Webinare & Events

Erfahren Sie mehr zu unseren aktuellen Events, Webinare und Webcasts

Best Practice Downloads

Informative Leitfäden, Whitepaper und Case Studies zum Download

CX Expert Webcast

Wichtige Trends für Journey Manager im Jahr 2024

Übersicht

Warum cxomni?

cxomni wurde 2015 als Start-up in München gegründet und ist Thought Leader für Journey Management

Jobs & Karriere

Werde Teil eines dynamischen Start-ups

Informationssicherheit & Datenschutz

Informationssicherheit & Datenschutz sind Schlüsselelemente der cxomni Plattform

Zum Newsletter anmelden

Aktuelle Themen & News rund um das Thema Customer Journey Management